Men's Soccer

Withrow and Hilgefort Earn Second-Team All-Midwest Region Honors

Dec. 8, 2010

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Marshall University men's soccer standouts Jordan Hilgefort and Daniel Withrow have been named to the Second-Team All-Midwest Region by the National Soccer Collegiate Athletic Association (NSCAA).

The two join nine others who comprise second-team members throughout the Midwest Region.

Hilgefort secured one of the three defensive spots on the team after finishing tied for first on Marshall in goals with four. Hilgefort started all but one game this season and played every minute in Conference USA action.

A Second-Team All-Conference USA selection, Hilgefort was the C-USA Defensive Player of the Week on Oct. 4th. He also earned C-USA All-Academic honors and was an ESPN All-Academic District II First-Team member.

Withrow represents the goal keeper position on the second-team list after being named the 2010 Conference USA Defender of the Year. Withrow tallied 65 saves with a 1.04 goals against average this season.

The Rochester Hills, Mich., native was the First-Team All-Conference USA net-minder and logged every single minute in between the pipes for the Thundering Herd.

Hilgefort and Withrow are the first-ever Marshall soccer players to be awarded Second-Team All-Midwest Region honors. Dustin Dawes was a first-team selection in 2009, while Jeff Lenix was a third-team member in 2007.

A total of 15 student-athletes from Conference USA landed on teams one through three. A list of all award-winners are listed below:

First-Team All-Midwest Region

GK - Alex Riggs - Missouri State

D - Justin Chavez - Tulsa

D - Tyler Polak - Creighton

D - Curtis Ushedo - UAB

MF - Arthur Ivo - SMU

MF - Robby Lynch - Evansville

MF - Ashley McInnes - Tulsa

MF - John Bayron Sosa - Univ. of Missouri, Kansas City

F - Juan Castillo - SMU

F - Ethan Finley - Creighton

F - Bryan Gaul - Bradley

F - Austin Neil - Tulsa

Second-Team All-Midwest Region

GK - Daniel Withrow - Marshall

D - Gerard Barbero - Missouri State

D - Juan Leone Cruz - SMU

D - Jordan Hilgefort - Marshall

MF - Dion Acoff - Creighton

MF - Greg Jordan - Creighton

MF - Jose Soto - SMU

MF - Chris Taylor - Tulsa

F - Perez Agaba - IUPUI

F - Heath Melugin - Missouri State

F - Babayele Sodade - UAB

Third-Team All-Midwest Region

GK - Ken Cooper - Univ. of Missouri, Kansas City

D - Dylan Asher - Kentucky

D - Hunter Christiansen - Tulsa

D - Nick Foster - Drake

D - Aaron Henkle - Evansville

MF - Jose Gomez - Creighton

MF - Matthew Lodge - Kentucky

MF - Randy Roy - SIU Edwardsville

F - Thomas Ostrander - Drake

F - David Sarabia - Univ. of Missouri, Kansas City

F - Max Touloute - IPFW

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned