Steve Cotton (left), Jack Bogaczyk


Herd's Bogaczyk, Cotton Among NSSA State Finalists

Nov. 19, 2015 HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Jack Bogaczyk and Steve Cotton of Marshall University have been selected by their state media peers as 2015 finalists for West Virginia’s Sportswriter and Sportscaster of the Year, respectively. The annual awards honor excellence in sports media.

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association, based in Salisbury, N.C., announced the finalists for 2015 national and state honors today. Voting among NSSA members takes place in December and the winners will be announced in mid-January.

“Steve and Jack bring our Herd fans superb knowledge and a real depth consistently in their work with the spoken and printed word,” Marshall Director of Athletics Mike Hamrick said. “We’re proud to have them covering us day-in, day-out and their recognition as finalists for these honors by their fellow media should be meaningful to them.

“I’d like to congratulate all of the other finalists, too – Grant and Chuck; Mark and Keith. They all work hard and I appreciate the effort they put into getting the Thundering Herd covered on a regular basis.”

Cotton, the longtime “Voice of the Herd” on the Thundering Herd/IMG Sports Network, is a state-record, 10-time winner of the Broadcaster honor. He is joined as a finalist on the 2015 ballot by WSAZ Television Sports Director Keith Morehouse, a four-time winner, and two-time honoree Mark Martin, Sports Director of WCHS/WVAH Television and the football game analyst for the Thundering Herd/IMG Sports Network.

Bogaczyk, the veteran journalist who writes “The Word on the Herd” column for and also serves as Herd Insider Editor, is a state Sportswriter finalist with Charleston Gazette-Mail Sports Editor Chuck McGill and (Huntington) Herald-Dispatch sportswriter Grant Traylor, who covers Marshall football, women’s basketball and high school athletics in the Tri-State.

Bogaczyk and McGill are three-time winners of the state Sportswriter honor. Traylor is a first-time finalist for the award.

The awards will be presented during the 57th annual NSSA Awards Banquet on June 20, 2016, in Salisbury, N.C.

Print Friendly Version