Helly is the first female golfer in school history to earn All-C-USA honors.

Women's Golf

Helly Named to All-Conference USA Third Team

April 29, 2015

IRVING, Texas -- Sarah Helly (Enniscrone, Ireland) capped her already-decorated senior season by becoming the first female golfer in Marshall history to earn All-Conference USA honors, the league announced on Wednesday.

Helly, who recorded the Herd's lowest single-season stroke average (76.43) since the program was re-established in 2002-03, is one of five golfers to earn All-C-USA Third Team honors. The awards are voted by league coaches.

"This is great for Sarah and caps off a great season for the team," Herd coach Tiffany Prats said. "Sarah worked really hard this year and it's wonderful to see her get recognition for it. This is the first time in program history that a player has made an All-C-USA team, which is fantastic."

The award lengthens a list of accolades for Helly that includes C-USA All-Academic honors (April 16) and a C-USA Golfer of the Week recognition (March 4). Helly was one of two Marshall golfers to finish in the top 20 at the C-USA Championship in Fort Myers, Fla. -- a first for the program -- placing 19th (April 22). Additionally, she posted three top-10 finishes this season with her best placement of fifth at the Hoya Invitational (March 31).

Below is a complete list of winners.

2015 All-Conference USA Women's Golf Teams
Golfer of the Year: Meghan MacLaren, FIU
Freshman of the Year: Maggie Simmermacher, Old Dominion
Most Improved Golfer: Meghan MacLaren, FIU / Heather Netti, Florida Atlantic
Coach of the Year: Chris Adams, Middle Tennessee

All-Conference USA First Team
Meghan MacLaren, FIU
Avery George, Middle Tennessee
Allie Knight, Middle Tennessee
Maggie Simmermacher, Old Dominion
Camino Sardinero, UTEP

All-Conference USA Second Team
Coralia Arias, FIU
Camila Serrano, FIU
Emily Miller, Middle Tennessee
Eji Kwon, North Texas
Devon Spriddle, Southern Miss

All-Conference USA Third Team
Sarah Helly, Marshall
Katerina Vlasinova, Old Dominion
Brogan Townend, UTSA
Georgina Blackman, Western Kentucky
Elinor Haag, Western Kentucky

For all the latest information about Marshall women's golf, follow @HerdMWGolf on Twitter.


Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned