Marshall Football Postgame Notes

Oct. 31, 2015


Junior safety Tiquan Lang - usually No. 21 - wore No. 47 today as tribute to senior running back Devon Johnson, who remains out due to injury.

Marshall game captains versus Charlotte, as selected by Coach Doc Holliday and his staff -- Offense: Michael Selby, center; Ryan Yurachek, tight end; Defense: Taj Letman, safety; Evan McKelvey, linebacker. Selby leads the team with seven captain selections in nine games in 2015.

Defensive tackle Jarquez Samuel's sack on Charlotte's first series was the senior nose tackle's first sack of the season and third of his career.

Wide receiver Davonte Allen's 66-yard touchdown reception from quarterback Chase Litton (6:30, first quarter) is the Herd's longest completion this season. It also was Allen's 12th career touchdown catch, moving him into a tie for No. 21 all-time at Marshall with Andre Motley (1988-90).

Tyler Williams' 54-yard punt (4 mins, first quarter) was his 18th punt of 50 or more yards this season and the 56th of his career.

Marshall's nine-play, 97-yard touchdown drive (13:27 second, Litton-to-Yurachek TD) is the Herd's longest drive by yardage this season, topping an 89-yarder against North Texas one week earlier.

Tight end Emanuel Byrd's 41-yard reception (early second quarter) is the longest by a Herd tight end since Devon Johnson had a 52-yarder against East Carolina on Nov. 29, 2013 - the Herd's first C-USA East Division-clinching win.

Placekicker Nick Smith's 37-yard field goal miss (13:04, third quarter) ended his streak at 12th straight field goal, and Marshall's at 19 in a row. Smith's 12 in a row puts him No. 2 on the Herd all-time list for consecutive successful field goal tries. Craig Ratanamorn made the school record 16 in a row with his last two in 2008 and first 14 in 2009. Justin Haig made his final seven last season prior to Smith's streak. The last miss was Haig's 23-yarder in the first quarter (11:26) against UAB at Legion Field on Nov. 22, 2014.

Quarterback Chase Litton's 486 pass yards ranks third in Herd single-game history. Only Byron Leftwich (576, GMAC Bowl, 2001 vs. East Carolina) and Michael Payton (496, VMI, 1991) have thrown for more yards in a Marshall game.

Wide receiver Davonte Allen made 12 catches for 232 yards. The 232 ranks sixth in Herd single-game receiving history. Randy Moss owns the record of 288 yards versus Delaware in 1996 Division I-AA playoffs.

Cornerback Corey Tindal's fourth-quarter interception was his second this season and third of his career.

Marshall has won 22 of its last 24 games and 27 of its last 30.

Marshall is 22-6 in games played after Oct. 28 in Coach Doc Holliday's five-plus years a coach, including 12-1 at Edwards Stadium.

Marshall has won eight consecutive Conference USA regular-season road games.

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned